**RESOLVED**, that as recommended by the City Manager, the following resolution be adopted:

 WHEREAS the Common Council of The City of Saint John has enacted certain by-laws pursuant to the authority of the *Local Governance Act*, S.N.B. 2017 c.18, and amendments thereto, (the "*Local Governance Act*") including the *Saint John Dog Control By- law*, By-law Number M-13 and amendments thereto, and it may from time to time be necessary to make inspections for the administration or enforcement of the By-law;

**AND WHEREAS** section 72 of the *Local Governance Act* provides that a council may appoint by-law enforcement officers for the local government and may determine their terms of office;

**AND WHEREAS** subsection 144(2) of the *Local Governance Act* provides that a council may authorize by-law enforcement officers to enter the land, building or other structure at any reasonable time, and carry out the inspection after giving reasonable notice to the owner or occupant of the land, building or other structure to be entered;

**NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED**, that Pamela Bentley, Vincent Chan, Lorraine Denton, Tamara Duke, Marc Goguen, Stephen Guenette, Catherine Lowe, Christopher McKiel, Philip Mitton, Amy Poffenroth, Dennis Richard, Mark Slader and Rachel Van Wart, are hereby appointed as by-law enforcement officers and authorized to enter at all reasonable times upon any property within the territorial boundaries of the City of Saint John for the purpose of making any inspection that is necessary for the administration or enforcement of the *Saint John Dog Control By- law* which received first and second reading by Common Council on November 5, 2018 and third reading on November 19, 2018, effective immediately, and this authorization shall continue until he/she ceases to be an employee of the Growth and Community Development Services department of The City of Saint John or until rescinded by Common Council, whichever comes first.

2. WHEREAS the Common Council of The City of Saint John has enacted certain by-laws pursuant to the authority of the Local Governance Act, including the Saint John Dog Control By-law, By-law Number M-13, and amendments thereto, (the "Saint John Dog Control By-law") and it may from time to time be necessary to commence proceedings in the Provincial Court of the Province of New Brunswick, when a person has violated or failed to comply with the said By-law;

**AND WHEREAS** section 72 of the *Local Governance Act* provides that a council may appoint by-law enforcement officers for the local government and may determine their terms of office;

**AND WHEREAS** section 12 of the *Saint John Dog Control By-law* provides that by-law enforcement officers are authorized to make complaints to a judge of the Provincial Court of New Brunswick alleging that a dog has bitten or attempted to bite a person and commence proceedings with respect to violations of this By-law;

**AND WHEREAS** section 150(1) of the *Local Governance Act* provides that proceedings for breach of a by-law shall be commenced in the name of the clerk of the municipality or such other person as is designated for that purpose by the council;

**NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED**, that Pamela Bentley, Catherine Lowe, Christopher McKiel, Amy Poffenroth, Rachel Van Wart, Philip Mitton, Dennis Richard, Lorri Denton, Tamara Duke, Stephen Guenette, Marc Goguen, Vince Chan, and Mark Slader are hereby designated and authorized to lay informations in the Provincial Court of the Province of New Brunswick for violations of the *Saint John Dog Control By-law*, effective immediately, and this designation and authorization shall continue until he/she

ceases to be an employee of Growth and Community Development Services of The City of Saint John or until it is rescinded by Common Council, whichever comes first.